1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Elevating priority of process "l2.exe*32"

Discussion in 'Archive' started by Lisaa, Feb 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lisaa

    Lisaa User

    Joined:
    16.05.13
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    26
    i'm in a need to set priority of this process above default "normal", but i get "access denied" message. tried everything (loging through root admin account, process explorer app and much more). also would want to change affinity of this process. it seems to be locked for unknown reason (it is not system process)

    i'm curious if anyone succeeded in doing this and could share the way.
    i'm running windows 7 64bit home premium.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 11, 2014
  2. Razzly

    Razzly Banned

    Joined:
    17.12.11
    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    253
    hello. it is not possible. frost denies any changes to this process.
    it will always deny access.
     
  3. Lisaa

    Lisaa User

    Joined:
    16.05.13
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    26
    i see. then another question since i do not want to start new thread: sometimes i get huge fps drops(from like 50-60 down to ~10) . doesn't matter what i am doing (standing in an empty zone or in massively crowded areas). i understand that it could be caused by frost scans, but other people do not experience such things at all, even though they have worse machines. any suggestion why it could happen?

    i've done everything i though and read about (game booster, disabled themes service and all visual effects, bought ssd etc. this priority/affinity change was a next step, but it seems i won't be able to do it) to increase performance in game. it helped a lot for overall performance but i still could not get rid of those huge fps drops.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 11, 2014
  4. behind enemy lines

    behind enemy lines User

    Joined:
    14.10.13
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    7

    im experiencing the same problem with decent 1200 euro new gaming machine huge fps drops etc. i think it has something to do with new updates they messed up perhaps some client code as they did messed up with npc laggs when certain amount of people are in... people are complaining about lower fps and drops now...
     
  5. Razzly

    Razzly Banned

    Joined:
    17.12.11
    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    253
    the game rely on 2 things
    hdd and cpu. the better hdd the faster texture loading and overall fps. cpu increases fps.

    i would recommend to find out why it drops fps suddenly. to do this you need program that shows cpu and hdd usage.
    for example free version advanced system care. open it and track fps drop down.

    if still nothing suspicious theb you can view more advanced tool build-in windows (im at work will tell you where is it once ill be at home). you will be able to track any processes for hdd,cpu,network etc.

    it might be anything.

    i had many issues with fps . seems like l2 likes i7 cpu + ssd samsung for best performance.

    some uses ramdisk for l2 . it is said its better,

    hope i gave you a clue where to look
     
  6. Alixyz

    Alixyz User

    Joined:
    29.06.13
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    37
    hello, i also experience some fps issues, i have an i5 quad core 2.66 ghz (3 years old) and a hdd with 32mb buffer (also 3 years ago), game card gtx 560 ti 1280 mb with 384 bit and 4 gb ddr 3 corsair 1600 mhz i tried some tips and tricks presented here. game booster, disable/enable things in video card settings but nothing seemed to improve my fps during mass pvp (except siege where i can play decent).
    if have any usefull info i would be greatfull.
    ps. i know that ssd is kinda a must, but still, till i will buy one im tried to get the best with that i have.
     
  7. Razzly

    Razzly Banned

    Joined:
    17.12.11
    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    253

    the most visible help in fps increase is to turn off windows composition

    https://4gameforum.com/showthread.php?t=23012 , 3rd chapter.

    when i changed this and added ssd, i have pretty fine fps during aden siege (i could finally play!!)
     
  8. Lisaa

    Lisaa User

    Joined:
    16.05.13
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    26
    i'll try to track fps drops source.
    about cpu and storage - i have i5 460m@2.53ghz(2.8 turbo) and kingston ssd 120gb@sata3gb/s.
    but my friend has i3-2370m@2.4 ghz and 1tb hdd/5400rpm - no fps drops experienced.
     
  9. Razzly

    Razzly Banned

    Joined:
    17.12.11
    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    253
    [​IMG]

    i thought its window's one. but its from that advanced system care. its for free and helps to track what's wrong,

    regards
     
  10. Alixyz

    Alixyz User

    Joined:
    29.06.13
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    37
    tried that also, no modification in fps during mass events.
     
  11. Razzly

    Razzly Banned

    Joined:
    17.12.11
    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    253
    have you tested on whole compositions turned off (when your windows looks like the win95 ?:) ). it took me couple of hours to do it because i wanted to save a little of win7 appearance :) i think restart required
     
  12. Lisaa

    Lisaa User

    Joined:
    16.05.13
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    26
    which version of iobit advanced system care you are using? because i cannot find that utility u have shown in v7.1.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 11, 2014
  13. Razzly

    Razzly Banned

    Joined:
    17.12.11
    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    253
    it in the advanced systemcare 6 version. not sure about 7

    edited:

    damn i was looking for it quite a lot where to start it.... its simply in settings :d

    http://en.kioskea.net/faq/22979-advanced-systemcare-free-enable-the-performance-monitor
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 11, 2014
  14. Alixyz

    Alixyz User

    Joined:
    29.06.13
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    37
    yea, after all the modification, for best performance, it looked exactly like win 95 :d but still no fps gained after the process.
     
  15. Razzly

    Razzly Banned

    Joined:
    17.12.11
    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    253
    defragment your windows with good program (the mentioned advanced system care has nice one). also get ready your registry with ccleaner.

    how many processes you have on atm? for standalone pc it should be less then 30 (i usually had 15 with nothing opened). with laptop around 50 (it usually has rubbish like instanton and similar).
     
  16. Alixyz

    Alixyz User

    Joined:
    29.06.13
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    37
    hdd have 0 fragmentation, reg are cleaned on a daily basis. atm i see 63 processes on.
     
  17. Razzly

    Razzly Banned

    Joined:
    17.12.11
    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    253
    then download this advanced system care , open quality monitor and try to track the process that slows your fps from time to time. i bet there is something
     
  18. Alixyz

    Alixyz User

    Joined:
    29.06.13
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    37
    ok, ty for info. i will try and come back with a replay.
     
  19. golemka

    golemka User

    Joined:
    07.12.11
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    182
    start menu > msconfig

    services tab > turn off every useless software
    startup tab > turn off every useless software
    basically if you play with pc you should keep only the nvidia/amd/soundcard software

    if you still lagg because its non software issue i recommend to put more ram into pc with higher freq / xmp

    the ssd is a big improvement too but remember , you need sata3 for its max bandwith
    also keep in mind if you have a mobo with mexicanbrazil components would cause the fps drop too
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 12, 2014
  20. Alixyz

    Alixyz User

    Joined:
    29.06.13
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    37
    what the hack is that? yea about sata 3 i know, i have 2 but still 50-60% of bandwitch should be used. i will try that thing with process. to see where it leads. ty for info.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.