1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blue Screen(BSOD) only on Lineage II

Discussion in 'Archive' started by KrgWOW, Apr 25, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KrgWOW

    KrgWOW User

    Joined:
    30.03.14
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, my brother just bought his first computer and i assemble the pieces. all ok, but when i start lineage 2, could be 20 minutes or 1 hour, bsod always come.

    the rig:

    all stock
    fx 6300
    corsair vs450w
    asus m5a78l-m lx3
    2x4gb kingston hyperx ddr3 1600mhz
    wd 500 gb 7200 rpm
    r9 270x dual boot oc sapphire
    plantronics gamecom 780 7.1
    windows 8.1 64bit

    what i've tried(x means fail):

    update the bios - x
    load bios defaults/check for auto overclock - x
    all updates windows 8.1 - x
    uninstall all sound drivers(onboard and plantronics, reinstalled plantronics only) - x
    reinstall lineage ii - x
    downclock the r9 270x - x
    run prime 95 test for a few hours - x (no bsod)
    run heaven benchmark for a few hours - x (no bsod)
    run planetside 2(cpu intensive) for several hours - x (no bsod)
    deactivate the anti-virus(avast free) - x
    deactivate windows firewall - x
    check temperatures cpu/gpu - x (all normal)

    i can't read the bsod error, the screen goes with "stripes" and and i see anything. i've tried to see on windows/minidump but i don't know how to open dmp files or what to do with that.
    on windows eventlog i get critical error kernel 41(63).

    dont know what to do anymore... :(
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 25, 2014
  2. Pougen

    Pougen User

    Joined:
    17.12.13
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    22
    no idee about windows 8.1 and lineage 2 "compatibility", i will check if i find something, or if someone who's playing with that allready can post.

    most of random bsods (psod ?) are related to memory, first check that your memory voltage and timings settings are ok in bios.
    check recommended memory slots setup in motherboard documentation.
    then test your memory with memtest or another tool.

    i allready had this random bsod behaviour with this "oc" type videocard and last official drivers version.
    was with nvidia card, but installing old drivers version solved my problem.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 25, 2014
  3. casillias

    casillias Technical specialist Innova Group

    Joined:
    05.04.11
    Messages:
    10,313
    Likes Received:
    534
    send pls your latest dump i'll look what could cause those bsod
     
  4. KrgWOW

    KrgWOW User

    Joined:
    30.03.14
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. casillias

    casillias Technical specialist Innova Group

    Joined:
    05.04.11
    Messages:
    10,313
    Likes Received:
    534
    where did you get that file from? as it is not exactly minidump...
    usually dumps are stored in c:\windows\minidump was it taken from there?
     
  6. KrgWOW

    KrgWOW User

    Joined:
    30.03.14
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea, it was taken from there, all the minidumps
    i have more minidumps like this there
     
  7. casillias

    casillias Technical specialist Innova Group

    Joined:
    05.04.11
    Messages:
    10,313
    Likes Received:
    534
    well i cannot open that one, it's not a dump in fact... send plz a few others then, maybe i'll open some of other
     
  8. Razzly

    Razzly Banned

    Joined:
    17.12.11
    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    253
  9. KrgWOW

    KrgWOW User

    Joined:
    30.03.14
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    http://www.4shared.com/rar/j_luf5akce/minidumps.html
    all the minidumps i have

    i downloaded the whocrashed and i've read all the bsod are caused by this:

    crash dump directory: c:\windows\minidump

    crash dumps are enabled on your computer.

    on fri 25/04/2014 18:44:55 gmt your computer crashed
    crash dump file: c:\windows\minidump\042514-22359-01.dmp
    this was probably caused by the following module: wpprecorder.sys (wpprecorder+0x1967)
    bugcheck code: 0x1000007e (0xffffffffc0000005, 0xfffff800541b7967, 0xffffd0009758f198, 0xffffd0009758e9a0)
    error: system_thread_exception_not_handled_m
    file path: c:\windows\system32\drivers\wpprecorder.sys
    product: microsoftâ® windowsâ® operating system
    company: microsoft corporation
    description: wpp trace recorder
    bug check description: this indicates that a system thread generated an exception which the error handler did not catch.
    this appears to be a ty****l software driver bug and is not likely to be caused by a hardware problem.
    the crash took place in a standard microsoft module. your system configuration may be incorrect. possibly this problem is caused by another driver on your system that cannot be identified at this time.

    i've tried this too:
    http://social.technet.microsoft.com...thandled-wpprecordersys?forum=winserverhyperv

    but when the commands on command prompt he says the path specified can't be reached or don't exist
     
  10. Razzly

    Razzly Banned

    Joined:
    17.12.11
    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    253
    hi,
    i guess you followed this:

    workaround:1) boot to the recovery console (you should automatically get there after a few blue screen crashes)
    2) launch command prompt
    3) run the following command:
    c:\windows\system32\compact.exe /u c:\windows\system32\drivers\*.sys

    4) reboot
    5) as soon as you successfully boot, disable ntfs compression system-wide so that the cbs scavenger does not reintroduce the issue again:
    fsutil behavior set disablecompression 1

    6) reboot again (so the disablecompression setting takes effect)

    which command does not work? what windows do you have? is it win8 ?
     
  11. KrgWOW

    KrgWOW User

    Joined:
    30.03.14
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes. 8.1.
    start advanced start up, recovery, command prompt and don't work.
    maybe i'm doing something wrong
     
  12. Lootus

    Lootus User

    Joined:
    28.03.12
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    11
    hey

    i have had the notorius blue screen problem few times in last three weeks.

    i solved the problem by - when closing clients i let the client crash one at a time (most of times i get some weird crash pop up when i close client - to desktop).

    i used to close them all at once and got the blue screen. now when i wait for the error pop-up in desktop - and close the next client only after the pop-up, i dont get blue screens anymore.

    hope this is of any help.

    best
    ssslice
     
  13. Razzly

    Razzly Banned

    Joined:
    17.12.11
    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    253
    what is exact problem? path does not exist? command not recognized?

    screenshot is very welcome,
    regards
     
  14. KrgWOW

    KrgWOW User

    Joined:
    30.03.14
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0

    well, when i start the command prompt is like this:
    x:\windows\system32>
    i put: compact.exe /u
    and he says "the system cannot find the path specified."

    then i try
    cd c:\windows\system32\compact.exe /u
    "the system cannot find the path specified."

    i don't know what i'm doing wrong :(
     
  15. BeerWarrior

    BeerWarrior User

    Joined:
    28.02.13
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    21
    Code:
    c:\windows\system32\compact.exe /u c:\windows\system32\drivers\*.sys
    if your system partition is other than c: then just replace c with the according letter, otherwise don't replace anything and use it as is.
    if your system partition is x: then the command would be:
    Code:
    x:\windows\system32\compact.exe /u x:\windows\system32\drivers\*.sys
     
  16. KrgWOW

    KrgWOW User

    Joined:
    30.03.14
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    when i try:
    x:\windows\system32\compact.exe /u x:\windows\system32\drivers\*.sys
    he says:
    "x:\windows\system32\compact.exe" is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

    when i try to cd to c:\
    the system cannot find the path specified.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 30, 2014
  17. Razzly

    Razzly Banned

    Joined:
    17.12.11
    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    253

    hello, please try to open windows in safe mode with admin priveleges. you can try to prompt this line on command line.

    start -> execute -> type "cmd" and open it with admin priveleges (in windows safe mode!)

    this should work
     
  18. KrgWOW

    KrgWOW User

    Joined:
    30.03.14
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep, work that way but didn't work in-game
    still bsod
    i think i'm gonna give up
    has been almost a week without playing l2
     
  19. Razzly

    Razzly Banned

    Joined:
    17.12.11
    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    253
    hello,

    pity it didn,t work. but i've just noticed that you have overclocked i5, please lower the clock multiplier to around 200 (i believe you have it around 215). that might be the reason you have bsod's.

    for security reasons please set it to around 185 and increase by 5 until you will be getting bsod's (if 185 will be to low for you),

    regards

    ps: it's to this post unless it was comparison to the first post.

    please update your hardware software (graphic card especially) to the latest version
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 1, 2014
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.