1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

L2 no longer works in virtual machines?

Discussion in 'Archive' started by cirnelius, Jul 24, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cirnelius

    cirnelius User

    Joined:
    17.06.12
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    hello everybody.

    i play on a mac, so i run w7 in a virtual machine with parallels. i play l2 so for years and never had problems.

    well. i donâ´t play for a few days ago. yesterday i wanted to go and the game asked me to update, so i did. i tried to enter but it hangs on the screen of frost security. while frost loading logo appears on a tab toolbar that puts winlicense, and when you right click on that tab to close, to give close says "sorry, this application can not run under a virtual machine" followed by the accept button.

    if you hit accept you just getting into the game at vga resolution with an error message that says "the gameguard file is damaged. please reinstall gameguard. (error code = 153)".

    i just did a restore and i upgraded frost to version 1.2.7.1. everything stays the same. what's up?? what now l2 can not be used in virtual machines?

    apologies for my english. thank you google translator for making it possible :d
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 24, 2014
  2. Razzly

    Razzly Banned

    Joined:
    17.12.11
    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    253
    hello,
    i will forward your question to the proper team. please stay tuned,
    regards
     
  3. Razzly

    Razzly Banned

    Joined:
    17.12.11
    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    253
    hello,

    i have received valid informations.

    since last update ( 22.07.2014 ) virtual machines will not work with lineage ii eu and this is intended action.

    excuses for any inconviniences caused.

    regards
     
  4. cirnelius

    cirnelius User

    Joined:
    17.06.12
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks for the information, razzly. i suppose this is the end of my adventures in l2 (at least on this server), or i will be forced to use bootcamp (puaj).

    by the way ... a question for those who had that "wonderful" idea ... when will arrive the l2 version for osx and linux? or they think losing that market? osx may not be very important in the l2 players (although some use it) but linux grows and grows ...

    p.d.: you need à‘ for your signature :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 25, 2014
  5. Razzly

    Razzly Banned

    Joined:
    17.12.11
    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    253
    hello,
    there is no eta for such a feature unfortunately. perhaps you could send a ticket to gm team and find possible solution!

    ps: thanks!
     
  6. cirnelius

    cirnelius User

    Joined:
    17.06.12
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    ticket sent. waiting for news :confused:
     
  7. cirnelius

    cirnelius User

    Joined:
    17.06.12
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    gm team reply:
    _______________
    a staff member has replied to your question:

    hello,

    as for the virtual machines - actually, the game was never supposed to work on them, so we never supported them in the first place. that is why this error keeps occuring (mostly now) and we can unfortunately do nothing about it.
    regarding the other os - we will forward the question to our developers.

    best regards,
    gm pask
    _______________
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2014
  8. Trigger

    Trigger User

    Joined:
    15.06.12
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    215
    you can try this under your vm in parallels

    run regedit,

    find the following entry under

    hkey_local_machine\hardware\description\system

    check the videobiosversion

    you will find there some parallels vga entry like "parallels (r) 7.0.42 vga*compatible bios version 3.0.2111.89721"
    delete it and save videobiosversion as empty.

    after this try run l2
     
    Patri and cirnelius like this.
  9. cirnelius

    cirnelius User

    Joined:
    17.06.12
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    trigger, you are the ****ing master ;) thank you so much
     
  10. Patri

    Patri User

    Joined:
    07.12.11
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    286
    [​IMG]
     
    yLogy likes this.
  11. cirnelius

    cirnelius User

    Joined:
    17.06.12
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    well, not me. it was the self-corrector ;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 30, 2014
  12. cirnelius

    cirnelius User

    Joined:
    17.06.12
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    trigger's solution works fine but you have to do it every time you restart the vm. is not a problem :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.