1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Recording and Rendering Guide

Discussion in 'Fan Art, Fan Fic, Videos, Screenshots' started by Troy, Apr 8, 2015.

  1. Troy

    Troy User

    Joined:
    24.11.11
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    391
    first of all, i'm not a master on this kind of things, so i might be wrong on something and i've been doing it bad for some time xd anyway, some people asked me to show how i render so here it is.

    this rendering method is not the one i currently use (changed few weeks ago), but its way faster to use than any other i've used and overall the quality for l2 videos is good.

    programs/codecs we will use/check:
    fraps (i've got 3.5.99 version but any of them should work, options are almost the same)
    dxtory (i've got 2.0.127 version but any of them should work, options are almost the same) - this program, at least for me, works better to record l2 than fraps (same video quality but less fps drop)
    sony vegas (i've got 12.0, i think it should work in older versions too but i'm not sure)

    what to do:
    1. settings in fraps: you may change it, this is only what i use for my own frapses, doesn't mean is better or worse than any other, just different :p
    [​IMG]
    i've heard some people use 30 fps settings, other use 50, i've used 100+ before, you can check which one you preffer the most. i actually had problems before that when using 60 fps i had a huge fps drop (to 10-20 when i started recording) but with the 50 fps option i had no problem at all.

    1.1 settings in dxtory: you may change it, this is only what i use for my own frapses, doesn't mean is better or worse than any other, just different :p
    [​IMG]
    if you want a guide to be able to properly setup other options of dxtory, check this video.

    2. after you get the .avi file from fraps or dxtory, feel free to edit it with sony vegas and/or after effects (rendering in after effects is easy, so i will skip that part). settings on sony vegas to start with:
    [​IMG]
    in red the things you may change, other should be same as on screen:
    resolution: if you use the same as me (1920x1080) your videos in youtube will be on 1080p. doesn't matter if you recorded in lower resolution, it might just add black bars on the left and right of the video (depends on what resolution you record in, and i never cared about those bars).
    frame rate: i've always used 30, tried some videos with 60 but never noticed any change, since in l2 i don't have 50-60 fps when recording pvp. i know how it works in other videogames, but i got no idea how it affects l2 videos.
    also remember to click the "start all new projects with this settings" option if you don't want to configurate this every time you start a movie :p

    3. when you get your movie in sony vegas ready, we will proceed to render it:
    [​IMG]
    click on "file" -> "render as..." and we will go to "mainconcept avc/aac", doesn't matter which template you get there since we will change some stuff, but if you get the "internet hd 1080p" you won't have to change many stuff. then press "customize template..." and we will change the following:
    in "project" part we will leave the "video rendering quality" on "best".
    in "audio" part we can leave it like it is.
    in "system" part, you can press "check gpu" and if it says "cuda is available" or "opencl is available" you can use it in the video tab changing the "encode mode", i read it helps the rendering speed without losing quality (or not much, i don't remember now xd).
    in "video" part we will get the settings like this:
    [​IMG]
    the "constant bitrate (bps)" will modify our movie's video quality, more bitrate means better video quality but also bigger size, so you need to choose correctly (if you use low bitrate on mass pvp movie it will look really bad, but you might use it on daily/small scale pvp movie; it also changes depending on resolution, so its hard to get the best quality/size rate this way). my advice is to check few of them, since i got no idea how it really works :p. i always used 50.000.000, and it works good for sieges too.

    4. once we get to this point we start rendering movie and we have finished!


    ps: i've copied/pasted some stuff from an old guide i made in l2blah few years ago (tho i was showing another rendering way there), so if you think something is wrong or you don't understand feel free to ask and i will try my best to explain it better.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2015
    Ultimated, GBPwnz, Doljo and 10 others like this.
  2. Hax

    Hax User

    Joined:
    24.11.11
    Messages:
    2,776
    Likes Received:
    443
    instead of 50.000.000 i usually used 8-10 for small scale pvps (or frapses which i uploaded quickly and/or for private use).
    for mass pvps i didnt really do more than 14.000.000 though, the file will get quite large on 50.000.000 i can imagine, but yes the higher the better the quality (if you have slow *** upload rate like i do, you might wanna stick to 14.000.000 which gives satisfying results (you can check couple of my siege frapses further back in this forum or pm me) and leaves you only to let it upload couple of hours for a 30 mins fraps :d


    for the fraps fps setting, you might wanna just try what fits best for you. for me 60 fps made no problems whatsoever, but it depends on the fraps version (some are less laggy than others i've noticed) and on your computer.
     
    Troy likes this.
  3. t0mas

    t0mas User

    Joined:
    26.05.14
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    50
    gj
     
    Troy likes this.
  4. DeepBlue

    DeepBlue Head Moderator (EU) Head moderator

    Joined:
    30.11.11
    Messages:
    13,751
    Likes Received:
    435
    stickied this thread troy, thank you for the guide to help others.
     
    Troy likes this.
  5. Norekien

    Norekien User

    Joined:
    24.05.13
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    220
    thank you really much, now i will be able to show my skillz as tank as i used time ago cancelling party ress and celestials!
     
    Troy likes this.
  6. Padj1l

    Padj1l User

    Joined:
    15.08.14
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    40
    Hi,

    I started to record using the in-game option instead of Fraps, but video doesn't appear in Sony Vegas when i try to make a movie. Everything is fine with files coming from fraps, and both are .avi
    Anyone has had this issue or knows a solution ? I checked a bit on google but didn't find anything fitting my problem ( mostly some advicees to install 6 years old codecs :D ).

    Edit: I installed camtasia to see if the problem was there too, and I have the same issue.
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2015
  7. Troy

    Troy User

    Joined:
    24.11.11
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    391
    Does it give the error "An error occurred while opening one or more files" or the file appears black? For the first one, only answer I found was what you said about installing codecs (I've got CCCP http://www.cccp-project.net/) but even with those I had this problem in one of my last sieges, so what I had to do was converting the .AVI to .MOV. For this I used Wondershare Video Converter which works good (keeps quality almost same), but there are many other programs like that.

    If your problem is the black preview tell me, because I had this long time ago and I forgot how I solved it.
     
  8. Padj1l

    Padj1l User

    Joined:
    15.08.14
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    40
    Yeah it's just black, the file loads, but I only have sounds in vegas, no image. There is nothing on the video track.
    I tried to find any difference between files coming from fraps and those from l2recorder, but didn't find any that could explain the problem. If I convert the files to another format ( mp4 for example) it works, but the quality is much worse. Maybe i should try your converter but I'd rather find the root of the problem ^^
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2015
  9. Troy

    Troy User

    Joined:
    24.11.11
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    391
    Try this solution I found somewhere and I do believe it worked for me long time ago:

    1. Options menu -> Preferences
    2. Video tab
    3. GPU acceleration of video processing: Off

    Hope it helps, if it does please tell me so I know for next time :p

    I was trying to find more solutions but all I could find is to update Quicktime (or install) but that was for .MOV videos.
     
  10. Padj1l

    Padj1l User

    Joined:
    15.08.14
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    40
    Tried but it didn't work :/

    Here is how it looks like on vegas : [​IMG]
     
  11. Troy

    Troy User

    Joined:
    24.11.11
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    391
    Uhm dunno then :/ In other forums I found other typical solution but I'm not sure it would work:

    1. don't have ****ty codec packs in your computer. Install all the regular, 'pro' codecs you want with no problem, but no ****ty codec packs. Remove them all with iobitunistaller and search for leftovers.

    Just only leave legit stuff like:

    AvidCodecsLESetup.exe
    cinemartin Cinec 2.7.5 Gold CE.msi
    DNGCodec_2_0_Installer.exe
    DNxHDProResQTSetup_CE.exe
    LagarithSetup_1327.exe
    m3jpegv3.exe
    Xvid-1.3.2-20110601.exe

    2. Install latest itunes (x64 or x86 depending on your system) and quicktime (x86 only at the time of writing this).
    Open those two software programmes afterwards and make sure they open and work ok.

    3.MAKE SURE THAT QUICKTIME ALWAYS RUNS AS ADMIN. It's very important. Go to C:\Program Files (x86)\QuickTime
    right click on QuickTimePlayer.exe, go to 'compatibility', 'change settings for all users', tick/check: "run this program as administrator", ok

    4. MAKE SURE THAT SONY VEGAS.EXE DOES ALWAYS NOT (AND I REPEAT NOT!!) RUN AS ADMININSTRATOR AND DOES NOT (NOT!!) RUN IN ANY COMPATIBILITY MODE

    5. Open the problematic project in vegas and go to:
    tools
    clean up pre-rendered video -> all prerendered video
    clean project media
    rebuild offline nested audio

    - Go to program's preferences and restore all defaults, especially video tab
    - check your sony vegas project settings, that it matches the media properties in it
    - make sure you don't have any corrupt video files in the project (i.e. green thumbnails)
    - disable and enable again your VFX in the corresponding video channel that has the black previews to
    check whether one of your effects causes the black previews

    6. download ccleaner and install it from here http://filehippo.com/download_ccleaner/download/3344dcbbf178985fed4ce8b9400...
    and run everything in it, i.e. RUN CLEANER - yes to all
    and REGISTRY, SCAN FOR ISSUES, FIX SELECTED ISSUES

    Restart computer, open vegas again, you should be ok
     
  12. Padj1l

    Padj1l User

    Joined:
    15.08.14
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    40
    Tried some of the things above with no success. However I found out that using another soft ( camtasia) I had the same issue, but I have no problem using the same file and camtasia on my laptop. So I suppose it's got to be a codec problem, however it's kinda weird that I have the proper stuff on my laptop on which I never did any video making before. I'll keep working on it, thanks for your help :)
    I don't get the point 2) tho, why would I need itunes and quicktime ? Aren't these apple software ?

    Edit: Now the issue is fixed on Camtasia, still there on Vegas tho. I installed/uninstalled some codecs.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2015
  13. Troy

    Troy User

    Joined:
    24.11.11
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    391
    Then as you I also believe the problem is with your codecs and I'd suggest to just uninstall every codec you've got to check without them to see if it makes a difference (seems there are some programs that help you fully removing a codec, since uninstalling isn't always the end).

    About Quicktime I know some programs use it (for example Adobe After Effects), but I do believe that guide was for .MOV or other kind of videos more than for a simple .AVI (even tho I found it in a .AVI problem thread)